What Is Prana?

Prana is called in India what we would call life energy. In China, the term chi is used for the same thing. According to the yoga philosophy, Prana exists not only in man but everywhere in creation. Sometimes prana is associated with Shakti, the feminine aspect and primordial power of the universe. Human health and spiritual development are linked to what level of prana we have in the body.

Checkout: Yoga India



What is Nadis?

Prana flows through the body via energy channels called Nadis. There are supposed to be 72,000 nadis in the body.

The three most important nadis are:

a) Sushumna Nadi

Sushumna Nadi starts from the root chakra, Mooladhara, in the perineum and follows the spine up to the brain, and the crown chakra, Sahasrara. On either side of Sushumna off the spine, Ida and Pingala go Ida to the left and Pingala to the right. Ida and Pingala cross Sushumna at several positions along the spine. These intersections form so-called chakras.





b) Ida Nadi

Ida Nadi is quite pale in color, similar to the moon. The energy that comes from Ida is mental and flows with breathing through the left nostril and activates the right hemisphere.

c) Pingala Nadi

Pingala Nadi is red like the sun. The energy is vital and flows through the right nostril and activates the left hemisphere. These three nadis begin in Mooladhara, intersect at several positions along the spine and then join in the third eye chakra, Ajna, to eventually flow out separately. Ida and Pingala flow out through their respective nostrils, Sushumna further up to the crown chakra, Sahasrara.


Check: Surya Namaskar

What are chakras?

Chakras are usually translated as wheels or circles. These are the energy centres that distribute energy to the body. Chakras are the hubs where central nadis meet. Nadis meet. Precisely where the most important nadis (Ida, Pingala, Sushumna) meet, the most important chakras arise. These nadis meet in 6 places and on each of these the energy has a certain character. The energy of the various chakras is linked to different levels of consciousness and areas of life.





Mooladhara chakra

We call this chakra the root chakra and moola means root. Mooladhara is located at the middle, a point between the genitals and anus for men and at the cervix for women. Mooladhara is linked to security and is very much about survival and securing access to food and roof over your head. Family, money and material standards are examples of what can give a person a basic sense of security and trust.

Swadhisthana chakra

The Swadhisthana chakra sits roughly at the tail of the tail and is linked to the sexual energy. Swadhisthana is associated with the experiences of the mind. We seek pleasure through sex, good food, etc. We seek to find the best way to satisfy our desire for pleasure. Here, too, often subconsciously, experiences we have had in the past are stored in the form of feelings we have pressed down and denied. (e.g. sadness, hatred, etc.) When feelings are pressed, they become blockages, Samskaras. These often lie in the Swadhisthana chakra and form part of a person’s karma. Swadisthana is associated with our need to control the emotions we do not want to feel and therefore press down.

Manipura Chakra

Manipura, the Solar Plexus chakra, is located in the area of ​​our navel and is an energy centre where we meet other people both through giving and taking. It is linked to personal will, ambition and career. Manipura helps us grow socially into a self-reflecting person. Manipura has outward-looking and active energy that can express itself, for example, through action, and can often be guided by selfish needs but also include some thought and thought about the needs of others.

Anahata Chakra

Anahata, the heart chakra, is located to the area just above the heart. Anahata is linked to higher ideals such as love, compassion, joy and more. Ana = grace and Hatha = power. In Anahata, the ability to love other people develops unconditionally. Anahata is also linked to artistry and beauty. When we are focused on Anahata, we move from a material focus to prioritising higher ideals.


Other Post: Yoga Mudra

Vishuddhi Chakra

We call Vishuddhi the neck chakra. It is located to the area at the neck inside the larynx. Wisdom means pure, and this is where we develop the ability to express and communicate in a clear and clear way without fear of what others think. We learn to receive, appreciate, and learn from what life offers us, whether it appears directly as “positive” or “negative.”

Ajna Chakra

The Ajna chakra is called the third eye. Here is our intuitive ability. Ajna chakra is also linked to reason and intelligence. It is also the chakra where two people are in contact with each other on a spiritual plane.

Sahasrara chakra

Sahasrara is not a chakra in the sense that Ida, Pingala and Sushumna do not meet here. Thus, it is not an energy node like the other 6 chakras. The Hässan – Sahasrara is still mentioned as the seventh chakra and is located at a point in the middle of the head. Sahasrara is the seat of the soul, and it is here that the kundalini energy, Shakti, (manifested creation, feminine aspect) coming up from Mooladhara is united with Shiva (pure consciousness, unmanifested part of creation, masculine aspect) at the time of enlightenment. Sahasrara stands for unity and our contact with God, the Source.

What is karma?

As we sow, we get the harvest. Karma is a law of nature which describes that what we give comes back and multiplied. This may sound as if there is some appreciation that if someone does something “wrong”, it is punished for it. Karma works much like an echo; it is a law of nature that gives us the opportunity to learn and grow spiritually.





Get in Touch: YTTI, Tapovan Rishikesh, Uttarakhand, 249201, India +91-9319065118